Senate Rejects Trump's Emergency Declaration On Border Wall

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The Senate voted on Thursday to reject President Donald Trump’s Feb. 15 emergency declaration that diverts funds to build a wall along the border between the United States and Mexico. The motion passed the Senate 59-41, delivering a huge rebuke to Trump on one of his key issues.

The resolution, which already passed in the House, is now headed to Trump’s desk. Trump has said he will veto the resolution. After the Senate vote, Trump posted a one-word tweet in all caps: “VETO!”

The vote also marked the first time Congress has used its power to reject a presidential emergency order.

In the end, 12 Republican senators voted with Democrats to reject the emergency declaration.

The Republicans that joined Democrats in voting yes on the resolution were:

Lamar Alexander of Tennessee

Click Here: essendon bombers guernsey 2019

Roy Blunt of Missouri

Susan Collins of Maine

Mike Lee of Utah

Jerry Moran of Kansas

Lisa Murkowski of Alaska

Rand Paul of Kentucky

Rob Portman of Ohio

Mitt Romney of Utah

Marco Rubio of Florida

Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania

Roger Wicker of Mississippi

Republican Sen. Thom Tillis of North Carolina who was a possible yes vote, voted no on the resolution. CNN has described Tillis as having been “somewhat circumspect” about the vote over the past few days.

Trump wants to use his declaration to steer $3.6 billion more to border barriers than lawmakers approved. He had warned Republicans to stick with him on the vote. He said doing otherwise would be siding with Democratic House Speaker Nancy Pelosi. But several Republicans defied that warning.

According to The Associated Press, there aren’t enough votes to override the veto as a two-thirds majority is needed in Congress to override a presidential veto.

Reporting and writing from The Associated Press was used in this report.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *