Eczacibasi from the top of Europe to the top of the world

Originally published at

Zurich, Switzerland, May 10, 2015.

Eczacibasi VitrA ISTANBUL thrashed Dinamo KRASNODAR 3-1 (25-16, 25-21, 24-26, 25-19) in the final of the 2015 FIVB Volleyball Women’s Club World Championship to become the third Turkish team to claim the most coveted club title in the world.

Eczacibasi followed in the footsteps of their cross-town rivals Fenerbahce (2010 in Doha) and VakifBank (2013 in Zurich) as they blocked their way to victory. Dinamo simply couldn’t find a way around and certainly not over the Turkish block, which contributed as many as 15 points to Eczacibasi’s final tally.

It could even have been easier, had Eczacibasi capitalised on two match points at 24-22 in the third set. With Tatiana Kosheleva effectively neutralised, Cuban-born Rosir Kalderon came on and temporarily gave some solutions to Dinamo’s offence. It was not to be, though. Kalderon couldn’t last and Eczacibasi regained control to bring the game home in four sets.

USA’s Jordan Larson-Burbach emerged top scorer of the final, with a total of 30 points (3 aces, 15/36 kills and two blocks) to add the title of world club champion and MVP of the tournament to the gold medal she had won last year in Italy with the USA national team and earlier this season also in the CEV DenizBank Volleyball Champions League. Larson-Burbach is also a two-time winner of the Club World Championship as last year she had topped the charts wearing the shirt of Russia’s Dinamo KAZAN. 

German middle blocker Christiane Fürst, who played a decisive part in Eczacibasi’s win, set an individual record of her own. She has become the only player in history to have won three gold medals-and it’s been done with three different teams, all of them from Istanbul. 

Click Here: cheap nrl jerseys

Earlier in the afternoon, hosts Volero ZÜRICH defeated Rexona-AdeS RIO DE JANEIRO of Brazil 3-0 (25-21, 25-17, 25-18) to claim the bronze medal and complete a clean European sweep of the podium. 

FIVB Dream Team 

MVP: Jordan Larson-Burbach (USA/Eczacibasi VitrA ISTANBUL)
Best Setter: Fabiola Almeida Alves (BRA/Dinamo KRASNODAR)
Best Opposite: Olesia Rykhliuk (UKR/Volero ZÜRICH)
Best Outside Spiker: Tatiana Kosheleva (RUS/Dinamo KRASNODAR)
Second Best Outside Spiker: Fernanda Garay Rodrigues (BRA/Dinamo KRASNODAR)
Best Middle Blocker: Maja Poljak (CRO/Eczacibasi VitrA ISTANBUL) 
Second Best Middle Blocker: Ana Carolina Da Silva (BRA/Rexona AdeS RIO DE JANEIRO)
Best Libero: Silvija Popovic (SRB/Volero ZÜRICH)

Final standing 

  1.  Eczacibasi VitrA ISTANBUL (TUR) 
    2.    Dinamo KRASNODAR (RUS) 
    3.    Volero ZÜRICH (SUI) 
    4.    Rexona AdeS RIO DE JANEIRO (BRA) 
    5.    Hisamitsu Springs KOBE (JPN) 
    5.    Mirador SANTO DOMINGO (DOM) 

For further information visit

Photo source: CEV/FIVB

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *